Pear Drips – Nom Nomz

Until recently, the boss of the company I work for also owned Stockley’s Sweets in Lancashire. Why is this important? Well it’s home to the largest Pear Drop sweet in the world. Fact.

largestpeardrop

So YOU now naturally think “Why is this important?”. Well, it sort of makes me an authority on…pear drops, that’s why ( the link is tenuous to say the least I know ).

BUT WHY IS THIS EVEN IMPORTANT!  Well, I’m about to review Pear Drips by Nom Nomz that’s why.

PEAR DRIPS

Mixed at recommended 15%

70Vg, 3mg

Pear drips isn’t what you think it is. I’ve had a few ‘Pear Drop’ style e-liquids in the past, and they all push the flavours that we associate with the boiled sweet. These flavours derive from two artificial esters, that of pear and banana to give the sweet it’s unusual flavour. Plenty of people, including me, also perceive these flavours as a little like nail varnish remover, ethyl acetate if you will. And this is the hit I was fully expecting.

I was wrong.

Richard at Nom Nomz has decided to lull us into a false sense of security, and instead has presented us with a juice much more grown up than that. What I’m getting when I sit back and vape Pear Drips is almost cocktail like in structure.

Firstly there is the pear. I was taken aback by how natural, realistic and moist it was. It’s not a huge in-your-face concentrated flavour, more like fresh-pressed pear juice. Having said that, there is a hint of syrupiness going on so… fresh pear juice blended with a little tinned pear syrup? Yeah that’s about right.

As for the classic ‘nail varnish’ note, this seems to have been replaced by something a little more subtly…alcoholic. It’s like there is a touch of perry sat deep in the mix.

If I’m not mistaken, I swear there is also a tinge of what tastes like star anise, a whiff of something sweet and liquorice.

I found this is one of the sweeter Nom Nomz concentrates, but only to the point that it matches the profile of the juice, nothing too excessive.

I think my only issue, if it is an issue at all, is that I want the flavour to be more potent! Overall, Pear Drips is slightly soft, slightly subtle. But I can easily remedy this by mixing at a higher concentration in future, maybe 18% vs the recommended 15% and see how it goes. I also think maybe my brain is telling me to expect a ‘pear drop’ hit that it never gets. I need to stop over-thinking things!

So, after writing my review for Pear Drips, I tried to find an image that best represented what I was tasting, and here it is –

spiced-pear-gin-fizz-4-of-8

Pear Drips is a mellow cocktail of pear juice and syrup, mixed through a light perry, topped with a hint of sweet anise. It’s a grown-up affair, and a far cry from you average Pear Drop juice.

Seems like all the Pear Drops waffle at the beginning of the post was waste of time after all. Oh well.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822304_7

Cheers, PeegoreDONATE!

I got it here – Nom Nomz Flavour Shots priced £9 for 30ml

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.