Nom Nomz – Chew Bacco and Cinnabomb Haze

Going through a conflict of emotions right now. On one hand, I’m reviewing and vaping arguably the pièce de résistance of the recent additions to the Nom Nomz collection. On the other hand, They are the last two of the six new flavours and this makes me very sad now it’s all coming to an end.

But fear not, the reviews will be done, and their wonders will be bestowed upon you soon enough… as I type through my tears.  Bitter-sweet tears.

Lol.

CHEW BACCO

Mixed at suggested 20%

70VG, 1.5mg

Steeped for suggested 3 weeks

I know I’ve mentioned previously, but before vaping ultimately became a hobby, I was ( and still am ) a keen collector of men’s fragrances. And one thing I found was tobacco, when used to compliment other notes, can be really pleasing to the olfactory bulb. Forget about stale cigarette butts, grey dank ash and that stinky smell that clings to clothes. Think warm, rich and sweet. Well, the same goes for vaping.  It’s the reason RY4 just…works. Please don’t ever be put off trying a juice with tobacco notes. Case in point – Chew Bacco.

This here e-liquid is, to my taste, easily the most pudding/dessert of the recent bunch.

GALAXYCARAMELInitially upon taking your first few toots, smooth buttery caramel is totally the up front flavour. It’s a flavour I find very hit and miss in a lot of other juices, yet caramel in many RY4’s always seems to be consistently good. The caramel in THIS RY4 is gorgeous. Think centre of a Galaxy Caramel…. Hmmm…. ( ahem ).

But what is backing this flavour up is the tobacco note, a subtle hint of biscuity-woodiness that pairs exceptionally well. Look, a lot of you dirty sods out there stick salt into your caramel for some reason… just accept that tobacco and caramel work equally as well!

So thus far we have an unctuous topping slathering a cake base. What, I’ve not mentioned the cake?!? Jamaica Ginger Cake.

A deep, dark cake base is what I’m talking about. A cake that is infused with ginger, ultimately delivering not only a rich bakery flavour but a lovely warming sensation on the back of the palate, especially after a decent vape sesh!

I think it’s also worth mentioning that Chew Bacco does need at least it’s minimum three week steep, as not only does it give the tobacco and other flavours a chance to mature properly, but also starts to reveal a mild vanilla custard note over time. It’s not immediately obvious, but it’s hidden away in there.

Is Chew Bacco the best of the bunch? Well, they are all good for their own reasons, but as an out-and-out dessert juice it’s definitely the pick of the pack. Rich, indulgent and a big hit with me.

MKMPS. Michael Korrs for Men, excellent tobacco notes. Well, it might catch on… twinning your vape with a fragrance 🙂

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822315_2

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

CINNABOMB HAZE

Mixed at suggested 20%

70VG, 1.5mg

Steeped for suggested 2 weeks

“Oh my” was a phrase mentioned a few times in the Nom Nomz Facebook group with regards to Cinnabomb Haze. Two words that are very fitting indeed. Cinnabomb Haze is easily one of the most unexpectedly different juices I’ve sampled since… ever.

The personally distressing CapellaCinnamonDanishV2Gate was a long while ago now, but I can honestly say I still struggle with Cinnamon as a flavouring in e-liquids. If not done really well, It will just put me right off, irrespective of who made it or how much it costs. Once again though, Richard comes up trumps with his flavour selections and blending skills, and as a result the cinnamon in Cinnabomb Haze steeps out to become…. not particularly cinnamony at all!

Yes, cinnamon is there. It’s there when the concentrate is first mixed, and for a week or so after. I know, cos I kept testing it. But it calms down a huge amount, and is magically transmogrified in the blend as time goes on. The results will be mentioned later.

What REALLY caught me out though when this was steeping was the fruit. I had no knowledge AT ALL regarding what was in any of these flavourshots besides their names.  The cinnamon was obviously mixed with fruit. And the most common fruit to be mixed with this is apple. The fruit had a fresh slightly tart sweetness originally, and my brain just naturally assumed an apple/cinnamon combo. I mentioned this to Richard. And he laughed. “It’s Raspberry!” ( no doubt followed by an unsaid “you nob!” ). Well, bugger me I thought. I really didn’t pick up on that.

l_refreshersSuffice to say, after a PROPER steep ( and a few Raspberry Stella Cidre’s for reference ), I can tell you that yes, this is indeed Raspberry. Raspberry that is soft and sweet, with a slight tartness. This tartness links with the cinnamon somehow, and I find this is where the transmogrification ( mentioned earlier ) kicks in. There is a resultant sourz effect going on early doors that eventually starts to calm down into a soft sherbet sensation. I know it all sounds a little odd, but I have had my workmate try Cinnabomb Haze to confirm my thoughts. He tried it and exclaimed “Pink Refreshers!”

You can probably tell from these few paragraphs of ramblings I’m finding Cinnabomb Haze perplexingly interesting. It’s slowly evolving and changing as time goes on, and I have a feeling given another week or two it’s flavour profile will shift again. At the moment, two weeks steeped, it’s an interesting soft sherbet raspberry with a barely cinnamon twang. But I do believe this will soften even more. Just today as I type I’m convinced I’m finally getting some sort of cake flavour through. I do think it’s heading towards the description given on the website “Delicious cinnamon cream sponge, glazed with a gorgeous raspberry icing” , but to be honest if it stays like it is I’d be more than happy.  I’ll report back in a few weeks either way.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822304_7

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

FINAL THOUGHTS

Not much to add to any of these reviews but… wow. Richard at Nom Nomz has taken the time to craft a very solid selection of well blended flavourshots, expanding on his already excellent range.

As usual I have to mention taste is subjective and all that; but I’ve truly found it hard to pick any faults with any of the six mixes reviewed. Ok, so at worst, I personally found that sometimes the flavour descriptions don’t fit the juice itself ( Lime Tart, Cinnabomb Haze, Holy Cannoli tasting more confectionery than cakey for example ), but that’s almost irrelevant, and certainly has no bearing on the quality offered here. That’s just my own personal perception.

At the end of the day, I’ve enjoyed every single one of the new releases, and looking forward to more additions in the future with great anticipation!

Cheers, PeegoreDONATE!

I got them here – Nom Nomz £9 for 30ml plus postage.

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.