Nom Nomz – Lime Tart and Holy Cannoli

After ( nearly ) a weeks holiday I’m back, fully refreshed, and ready to tackle the reviews for the four outstanding concentrates sent to me by Richard at Nom Nomz.

You’ll remember I have already tasted and rated the excellent Pear Drips, a fine Pear Perry juice, and Fried Custard, a donut swimming in a sea of creamy custard. Coming up today – a couple of citrus deserts to wake the taste-buds, and by the end of the week a moreish tobacco caramel dessert. Oh, and one that tastes nothing like anything I’ve ever vaped so far!

Read on.

LIME TART 

Mixed at suggested 20%

70VG, 1.5mg

Steeped for the suggested 2 weeks

Lime Tart is a damn fine vape. I’ll get that out of the way first. But is it REALLY a dessert vape? I’m not so sure. When I think if Lime Tart, my thoughts drift immediately to Key Lime Pie. And in turn graham cracker, cheesecake, heaviness… and lime. Nah, not so with Lime Tart!

choclimesWhat I get time and again when vaping Lime Tart is something decidedly more confectionery. Fact is, I taste something that takes me back to my childhood and my Grandad’s favourite boiled sweet – Chocolate Limes ( see piccie ). Ok, so you need to subtract the ‘chocolate centre’ from my comparison straight away, but what’s left is surprisingly similar.

The Chocolate Lime’s hard boiled shell combines a zingy, tangy lime flavour with a sweet creaminess I still find unique to this day. Well, it was until I started toking on Lime Tart. It’s uncannily similar!

I do also get the lightest, most delicate pastry background note; a little dry, almost savoury, like a very thin shortcrust. But this is so light in fact that half way through a tank of this juice I stop noticing it at all.

I think Lime Tart is more what I was looking for when I first tried Lime Bake. A juice where the tangy, fresh yet creamy lime shines with very little to complicate the relatively pure citrus flavour. Of the four being reviewed, this is certainly the one I ADV the most. Addictive!

wp-1490611772399.jpg
Friday Morning 10am
wp-1490611869407.jpg
Friday Night 10pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822315_2

 

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

HOLY CANNOLI

 

Mixed at suggested 22%

70VG, 1.5mg

Steeped for the suggested 2 weeks

The second citrus of the four one-shots being reviewed this week, Holy Cannoli, brings to the table another juice that to my taste defies it’s own title. It does a “Lime Tart” so to speak.

This one I feel does need it’s steep-time for all the ingredients to settle into place, as when they do it’s lovely. In the same way I expected Lime Tart to be like a Key Lime Pie juice ( It wasn’t!), I thought Holy Cannoli would be a sort of Lemon Drizzle Cake like Lemony Snicket ( It wasn’t). Again, I’m turning to confectionery references then for comparisons.

torrone-5-600And the overwhelming comparison is… Torrone. Holy Cannoli is awash with the familiar flavours of a high quality European confection.

Ok, so Lemon is the singular fruit in this mix, but unlike Lime Tart, is no where near as potent nor dominant. It’s fresh, and it has a little zing, but is more sparing and much lower-key in it’s application.

What does stand out though is an excellent Pistachio Nougat flavour. It has a creamy, sugary, almost chewy mallowyness, studded with the similarly creamy nuttiness of pistachio. With the more sympathetic application of lemon citrus running through this, it all feels and tastes very… Italian.

I get a light pastry note similar to Lime Tart, which again is adding a little dry savouriness to the vape, yet in this instance manages to tone down the sweetness much more than in the Lime Tart and is a flavour that lingers much longer.

I do hope this isn’t getting tedious, but yet again, Holy Cannoli is a Nom Nomz mix I can barely fault. I think I’m enjoying Lime Tart a little more (probably for nostalgic reasons as much as anything else), but blimey Holy Cannoli comes very close!

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822304_7

 

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

FINAL THOUGHTS

No surprise then. Nom Nomz produce two more cracking flavours! I’m glad that I managed to review Holy Cannoli and Lime Tart back to back, as It gave me a chance to show how citrus flavours can not only be used in two quite different ways, but also that a recipe doesn’t have to be run-of-the-mill. Richard could have followed the crowd and produced ‘another’ Key Lime Pie, ‘another’ Dinner Lady inspired Lemon Tart. He didn’t.

What he did do, as usual, is bring us something a little special. Twice. Bravo!

Cheers, PeegoreDONATE!

I got them here – Nom Nomz , £9 per 30ml plus postage

( Join Nom Nomz Discounts, Comps and Updates Facebook group for dicount codes and more! )

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.