Kernow – Orchard Co. Cider Range

Today will mark the first day of several “Full Range” reviews for the Kernow Flavours e-liquid company.

Luke Feely, the Big Man at Kernow, contacted me to say he’d enjoyed reading the blog and liked what I was doing. The upshot of this was a large box with pretty much their full range landed on my doorstep. Blimey. So first things first… Cheers Luke, you’re a (very generous) STAR!

The first line was always gonna be the Orchard Co. range. The idea of vaping fruity ciders just gets my taste-buds twitching with excitement! Considering me and the missus drink this sort of refreshing alcoholic beverage pretty much any time of the year, I think I’ll be in a decent position to pass some sort of ‘official’ judgement 🙂

cider!


STRAWBERRY & LIME

Mixed at suggested 20% ( contents of the 250ml Shottle )

Mixed at 75vg / 25pg, 3mg

Steeped for 11 days ( suggested 7 days )

Priced at £10.99 for Shottle, or £6.99 for 30ml oneshot at time of review

This is one of my all-time favourite Cider flavours to drink, usually the Rekorderlig version. Yeah it’s a bit sweet and, er, girly but I don’t care. I have no image to maintain. I’m an overweight 50 year old with what can only be described as a very patchy head of hair. Publicly drinking fruity cider is the least of my worries.

So to be able to VAPE Strawberry Lime Cider while DRINKING it…. awesome.

How does this vape juice compare to it’s real-life counterpart? Well, quite favourably to be fair.

The one flavour that stands out in all four of these liquids is the cider base. It’s not so much a flavour as a bit of sensory trickery. The taste-buds are presented with sour/sweet/bitter all rolled into one. This trio of ‘tastes’ mimicks the alcoholic nature of cider really well. It wouldn’t pass itself off as anything else frankly. The aftertaste of this could loosely be considered fermented apple, but the initial sensation is where this works best.

Layered over this cider base is a soft sweet strawberry, edging more towards realistic than candy-like.

Citric Lime finishes this mix off nicely with a little zesty zing, although I must say it’s (thankfully) not too in-your-face. You WON’T mistake this for a fruity Lemonade!

At the beginning I wondered if this would taste like Rekorderlig Strawberry Lime. Well, it’s certainly in the ballpark. I always find it a little unfair to make too-direct comparisons though. What I can say is this is a really tasty approximation of Strawberry Lime Cider, and one I’ve enjoyed very much indeed, and that’s all that matters isn’t it.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : sf2


DARK FRUITS

Mixed at suggested 20% ( contents of the 250ml Shottle )

Mixed at 75vg / 25pg, 3mg

Steeped for 11 days ( suggested 7 days )

Priced at £10.99 for Shottle, or £6.99 for 30ml oneshot at time of review

Next, it’s Strongbow Dark Fruit. Er, Sorry Dark Fruits.

This was the other flavour from the range I was really looking forward to, so again anticipation was high. In fact I’d guess this is likely the most anticipated from the whole range by most people.

When I mixed this, my very first thought was….Bluebena Cider?

Well after being mixed and steeped for a week, I’m happy to say yeah, it’s Bluebena Cider.

This is in no way a bad thing at all! Bluebena is a Kernow fan favourite and rightly so. Blackcurrant and Grape make for a really flavourful taste combo. Throw in a good cider base and jobs a good ‘un. Dark Fruit Cider.

Was this worth the anticipation? Well, it’s not as outright Blackcurrant as I expected but… yeah it was.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : sf2


PEACH & PEAR

 

Mixed at suggested 20% ( contents of the 250ml Shottle )

Mixed at 75vg / 25pg, 3mg

Steeped for 11 days ( suggested 7 days )

Priced at £10.99 for Shottle, or £6.99 for 30ml oneshot at time of review

I’ve been very taken with the Peached Infusion by Kernow for the last week or so since mixing and steeping it, so to fill my tank with Orchard Co. Peach & Pear and be greeted with the same style peach was, well, awesome.

I love how realistic a flavour this is, all lush yet soft and rounded. Very natural.

Where Peached Infusion relies on the slightly tart Apricot (and a sprinkle of sherbet) to add a piquant interest, this juice has it’s great Cider base. Cleverly, Pear has been used as a secondary flavour, and with this comes moistness. Soft, lightly fragrant moistness. Wowser.

So we have lush fruit, juicy moistness and a cider tang. How good does this sound? Well it’s a brilliant blend and once again I find myself re-assessing my favourite flavour from the four.

Wait, what? There’s still one more to go? Ok, this is my fave for the next 13 minutes then…

PEEGOREVAPES RATING :sf1


PASSION

Mixed at suggested 20% ( contents of the 250ml Shottle )

Mixed at 75vg / 25pg, 3mg

Steeped for 11 days ( suggested 7 days )

Priced at £10.99 for Shottle, or £6.99 for 30ml oneshot at time of review

Dammit, there had to be a Passion Fruit cider to throw everything up in the air…

I have a soft spot for Tropical style e-liquids. I have an even softer spot for the Tropical flavours that make the inside of your cheeks tingle with tartness and salivate with sweet syrupiness.

Passion Fruit always hits this particular spot and ticks them-there boxes. Every time.

In this mix, the tartness of the Passion Fruit is being amplified by the tart and bitter nature of the cider base, giving a slightly more keen edge to the vape. But this is almost immediately tempered by that mango-like pulpiness that also comes with Passion Fruit, along with a delicate florality. This yanks the mix back squarely into the realms of “Very Lush Vape” territory.

Orchard Co. Passion is a taste of the English Orchards with the Heart of the Caribbean.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : sf1


FINAL THOUGHTS

Cider. An interesting flavour to vape, and Kernow have pulled this idea off really well. In all four mixes, the cider is a little more flavour-forward than I’d imagined it would be. And in my mind this is the right way to tackle it, otherwise these mixes would just be, well, fruit flavours, and then what would be the point in calling them Ciders?

Each fruit addition takes the apple cider off in a different direction, and that’s what ultimately makes the Orchard Co. range so interesting, diverse and ultimately all worthy of purchase.

I rarely vape something ‘New’

Well I have now, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Thank you Kernow!

keepitcoming
Keep them Ciders coming Kernow!

Cheer, Peegore.

I got them here – kernowlogo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.