Isle of Flavours – Son of a Biscuit Eater

Isle of Custards have long been established as probably one of the best custard e liquid manufacturers… anywhere. When they started to sell their liquids as one shot concentrates, I’m sure a whole bunch of home-brewers from far and wide gave a hearty ‘huzzah!’ The custard and cream bases they employ are obviously the key to their success and rightly so, they are always rich and full of flavour.

Anyhow, back to why I’m posting today. I bought and reviewed Creme Anglaise by Nom Nomz a while back from their own site. When purchasing this, I noticed they also stocked Isle of Flavours oneshots. My custard loving work mate said people raved about Son of a Biscuit Eater, so I threw in a bottle of this as well.

It’s had a good steep as all custards should, three months in fact, and now I feel it is ready to be judged. ( I have in fact been vaping this since a months steep. Let’s suspend disbelief and pretend I haven’t, and that I’m actually a serious vapologist who takes all this bollocks VERY seriously. Just for five minutes! (Pretentious “closeup drip on fused clapton coils” to follow. Lolz )

wp-1487246518767.jpg
As promised… Dual Fused Claptons on my Limitless Plus. With a blob of liquid. And the end of the bottle it was dripped from. What a pretentious bell-end indeed…

ANYWAY!!!!!

SON OF A BISCUIT EATER

Mixed at suggested 24%, with 2% Ethyl Maltol added also as suggested

Mixed at 75vg, 3mg

Steeped for three months

custard_cream_1
Custard Cream Biscuits

Son of a biscuit eater IS custard cream biscuits.

The custard base in here is classic Isle of Custards. A very thick, full custard loaded with creaminess. It has a hint of vanilla but this is all about the creaminess.

What turns all this into custard cream biscuits is the…biscuit. At first, when I was trying this, the biscuit was quite a distinctive note in the mix after a months steep. A little raw, a little coarse. But with a good 2-3 months steep, this biscuit has mellowed, transformed  into a soft buttery shortcake biscuit.

The combination of the shortcake biscuit and creamy sweetened custard thus gives us a very tasty, quite moreish rendition of the teatime treat as shown in the image above. The last time I tasted something similar to this was Chefs Flavours ‘Nice Cream Biscuit’ oneshot. Very similar, but with coconut. And I really liked that one too.

In the mixing notes above, I mentioned I added 2% Ethyl Maltol. Isle of Flavours don’t add any sweetener to their oneshots at all. Not sure why, but I suppose this at least gives us a choice – how much do I want this juice to be a coil-killer!  If I bought this again, I might go 1% Ethyl Maltol, 1% tfa sweetener/sucralose. I would like a bit more of a sugary kick. But that’s my own personal opinion and taste.

Son of a Biscuit Eater is a really solid vape. Simple, but solid. When the biscuit and custard finally unite in the steep, it’s all worth the wait.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822304_7

Cheers, PeegoreDONATE!

I bought it here – Isle of Flavours at Nom Nomz

2 Comments

  1. i feel the same it needs a sugar lips finish ….i know people bleat on about sweetener but lack of it makes diy juices bland,i dont care about coil life and sometimes sweetener is needed

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.