Dr Fog – Milk & Honey, Halberd

This week we have a duo of 120ml Flavour Shots from Canadian e-liquid manufacturer Premium Labs called Dr Fog. They are best know for their flavours Polaris – a Deep Fried Raspberry Ice-cream, and also Vega – Peanut Butter and Banana Ice-cream.

I usually review what people are mainly buying, because these are surely the best examples of what a company does. In this case I didn’t. I went for two very different ones purely out of… curiosity.

These, yet again, are available from the awesome ELFC, for whom I have a super Peegorevapes exclusive anytime discount. Just use “PEEGORE12” at checkout for 12% off!


MILK & HONEY

Mixed at suggested 25% ( contents of the Bottle Shot )

Would suggest 20% in future, 25% far too strong.

Mixed at 75vg / 25pg, 3mg

Steeped for 3-4 weeks ( suggested 1-2 weeks )

Priced at £9.99 for Bottle Shot at time of review

I think we need to get something clarified. Milk & Honey, be it this mix and even in the original from Cosmic Fog; heck, even all other variants I have tried, are not literally a Milk and Honey flavour vape. None of them have ever seen Honey as a flavouring.

Not wanting to come across as an e-liquid know-it-all, but the number of reviews I’ve read and watched where people profess their amazement at the fantastic honey flavour in Milk and Honey makes me chuckle. Sorry. It’s not in there.

What they do all have in common is a simple trio of flavours – Cream, Marshmallow and Peanut (Butter).

Dr Fog’s version of Milk and Honey is initially VERY Peanut Butter heavy ( if you try this as a shake n vape, it’ll be REALLY obvious! ) that mellows out over three to four weeks steeping. It is then that it reveals it’s best balance.

In equal measure I get a nice nuttiness balanced with a sweet marshmallow taste and mouthfeel.

In the background there is a light creaminess, but it’s very low key. I think I also pick up a delicate cinnamon or a light graham cracker, but again it’s subtle.

I can honestly say that nothing has tasted as good as the pre-TPD, diacetyl-rich, original Cosmic Fog recipe. But this is a very satisfactory close second.

I’d be happy to get this in again, even though it’s a slightly different tasting beast to it’s original names-sake.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : sf2


HALBERD

Mixed at suggested 25% ( contents of the Bottle Shot )

Would suggest 20% in future, 25% far too strong.

Mixed at 75vg / 25pg, 3mg

Steeped for 3-4 weeks ( suggested 1-2 weeks )

Priced at £9.99 for Bottle Shot at time of review

As I mentioned at the start, I went for two of Dr Fogs less mainstream flavours.

My second choice is a Blackcurrant Gelato. OK, Ok, I know they are well known for their ‘Deep Fried Ice-cream range’ and I was avoiding the mainsteam, and this is a gelato ( ice-cream ), but it’s from their Elite range and I couldn’t find a single review of it anywhere so thought I’d give it a go.

Well, it’s not quite what I quite imagined. I imagined sweet and tart blackcurrants drizzled with a lush creaminess.

What I have here, even after diluting down from the initial 25% mix to 20% and a four week steep, is sadly not to my liking.

The Blackcurrant is strong but too earthy. Dirty earthy.

As for ice-cream, or even cream, I’m not getting much at all. Some sort of softness on the palate after the vape maybe?

Either way, I’m not a big fan of Halberd, and it’s one of the very rare occasions I’ll be giving out a Sad Face Emoji. As always, taste is subjective and someone else will likely love it, but the blackcurrant they are using just isn’t right in this mix. Oh, and it’s a bugger of a taste to remove from a re-buildable tank, even after a good soapy wash.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : sf4


FINAL THOUGHTS

Maybe I should have tried their popular flavours first.

Milk & Honey goes some way to redeeming the unfortunate calamity that is Halberd, but at this point, short of trying more flavours from there huge range at ELFC, I’d say Dr Fogs tagline “Flavours You Can Trust” could potentially be a little… misleading.

Cheers, Peegore

I got them here – ELFC

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.