Mom & Pops concentrates part 2 (UPDATED!)

Mom and Pops Butterfly Bait, OMG and Multicam Crunch reviews

UPDATE!!! 

I’ve amended the Multicam Crunch review! I wrote the review on day 7/8 of the steep but didn’t publish for a day or two. On day 10/11 of the steep I have noticed a HUGE change in the flavour profile. It’s worth re-reading as there is quite a difference now!

Fresh out of the steep drawer come my next selection of Mom and Pops concentrates. Today I’ll be vaping on the relatively well know Butterfly Bait, as well as a strawberry cream concoction going by the name of OMG!, and finally a juice created to donate 100% proceeds to charity; Multicam Crunch

All were mixed at 20% as per manufacturer suggestion, and 70VG/30PG as per my preference, at 3mg nicotine. All were left to steep 5-7 days ( mixed then left overnight in a warm airing cupboard, shaken vigorously, then stored in dark cool drawer, lid on ) before taste testing.

Toked on Sigelei 150W with Mutation X Dual Parallel coil 0.3 ohms 50W and Mutation X v4 Dual Coil 0.6 ohm 36W

BUTTERFLY BAIT

ButterflybaitAlongside Calipitter Chow, Butterfly Bait was a concentrate I really wanted to try. These two juices have received quite a bit of positive attention, so at £2.50 for 10ml they have to be tried! I reviewed Calipitter Chow in my previous Mom and Pops blog post, and it is one of the best liquid flavours I’ve tried so far whether from concentrate or ready mixed. Butterfly Bait is going to have to be REALLY special to beat it’s pre-pupated stablemate!

Yet again ambiguous in their website description, “A vaping innuendo, subtle, sexy, sweet, sophisticated”, I get where Mom and Pops are coming from.

Early in the steep, Butterfly bait is a punchy Peachy/Apricot with a equally strong second flavour I’ll mention later. After a week on steep, the Peach really mellows down, and I think is, possibly, responsible for the ‘floral’ note a lot of people seem to detect. Also there is a syrupy honeyed flavour that develops alongside this that isn’t noticeable just after mixing.

Then there is the ‘other’ flavour I detect that I mentioned earlier. No-one else seems to have mentioned this in reviews, so either I’m a taste-testing genius of Sherlock Holmes proportions…. or just deluded.

What is it? Anise and/or Blackcurrant I reckon. I’m not sure in what way either of these have been included in the mix, but it’s there I swear!. It was a strong sweet anise type taste at first. Now after a week that anise has softened a lot, but as an aftertaste I also get a flavour very similar to Flavourart’s Blackcurrant concentrate. A taste that I believe is also in Black Purps by Aerovape. What is Black Purps? Blackcurrant and Liquorice! I think this, combined with the honeyed syrup notes is what people are detecting as a maple syrupiness.

What does all this add up to? Well, a very, very good juice indeed! Butterfly Bait is a sweet, soft fruity vape with a creamy texture yet no hint of cream. It’s doesn’t assault the tastebuds and I can vape this for a while before tiring of it ( usually have this in the Kanger Subtank MIni in the car going to/from work ). And yes, I do get a persistent aftertaste of blackcurrant/anise after toking on it for a long period.

If I had any criticism, it would be that the peachiness mellows out a bit too much, but hey, it’s only a minor gripe.

Again, a concentrate that pretty much lives up to it’s hype. If you even vaguely like soft fruity vapes with a little something extra, Butterfly Bait would be a recommended next purchase.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822304_7

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

OMG!

mom_and_pop_omg_e_liquid__45556.1429579529.1280.1280Second for review is OMG. Mom and Pops are selling this as “Strawberry cream, heavy in the cream”. What I taste is a little different. Close but not the same.

After a week in the steep draw, the flavour ‘hierarchy’ I get is – Shortcake>cream>strawberry

Going from weakest flavour first, the strawberry is neither natural ( like Perfumers Apprentice ‘Ripe Strawberry’ ) or artificial and candy-like. It definitely sits somewhere in the middle. It is nice but subtle.

As for the cream, well there is a creaminess that isn’t heavy by any means. It’s about as loud as the strawberry to be honest.

Then there is the big-footed bugger that stomps all over this mix that is the shortcake biscuit beast! It’s not that I dislike this flavour ‘cos I don’t. I like biscuity vapes. But it’s a little annoying when it’s not what I bought into!

strawberry-cream-biscuits-250x250Despite this gripe ( which I’m gonna have a mini rant about later ), OMG is not too shabby for a strawberry dessert vape. In the UK we have Custard Cream biscuits. There also exist as a spin on this Strawberry Cream biscuits ( see pic). This is what OMG tastes like to me… a strawberry shortcake biscuit.

If you are still riding the waves of the previous trend ( before Cereal Vapes hit us ) of Strawberry n Cream, then I guess you will find OMG to your liking too. Just hope you like your biscuits!

UPDATE  14/1/16 – Mixed 15ml of this at 10% instead of 20%. So far after a few days steep, OMG is obviously not as strong flavoured but may benefit from this. The shortcake flavour isn’t as heavy, yet I’m still getting a creaminess. Hoping the strawberry keeps up. Have a feeling the right percentage us may be around 12-14%. 

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822292_1

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

MULTICAM CRUNCH

UPDATED COMMENTS AT END OF ORIGINAL REVIEW!

multicamLast up for now is Multicam Crunch. Created by Mom and Pops, along with a couple of other flavours, 100% of the proceeds for this are donated to the “Wounded Warrior Project”, helping injured war veterans re-integrate back into society. Big kudos to Mom and Pops for this gesture. I think people take for granted what these men and women do, putting their own lives on the line, to maintain the freedom we cherish. It’s nice to see some selflessness, just never expected to see it in the Vape community!

Onto the Multicam Crunch review then. And again, worse though this time, is the juices description on the website. Ready? – “Awesome Stuff!“. Oh, that helps. I’m definitely on a rant later!

What it DOES actually taste like is Banana Cereal. See, unless you’ve looked elsewhere on the web ( who doesn’t ), you wouldn’t have seen that coming from the juice name and website description!

The banana in Multicam Crunch is nice and not too ripe (I do like banana e liquids but hate overly-ripe banana flavours, or ‘Runt’ishness as Americans know it. I have 10ml of ‘ripe banana’ concentrate from Perfumers Apprentice that I’ll never use), and not too artificial either. behind this is a creaminess ( not milk! ) similar to the Krunchberry I reviewed previously. Lastly is the cereal. After steeping this lends a slight wheatiness to the vape but doesn’t even threaten the other two flavours.

What makes this a worthy purchase ( besides the aforementioned donation! ) is the unique nature of the juice. Every cereal out there is a strawberry/berry/lemon concoction to satisfy the masses. This is a juice that dares to be a little different and is all the better for it… creamy banana cereal.

Multicam crunch is a really likeable juice that Mom and Pops could easily have concocted and made money out of. Selflessly they created it for charity. When you drip this, you not only will enjoy the taste, but the warm feeling inside that you’ve done a little bit to help a worthwhile cause. Just buy it!

UPDATED TASTE NOTES – Well, this really switched on me! Multicam Crunch on around day 7 was a nicely creamy banana with a cereal/wheaty base. Just 3-4 days later I went back to it and it has changed dramatically. The banana is mellowing out a lot, and the creaminess is still there a little, but that wheaty/cereal note…. has become Calipitter Chow! 

Seriously this is a real surprise, and a REAL treat! Calipitter Chow is currently one of my top vapes, one I keep at hand most times. BUT Calipitter AND soft, creamy banana with a hint of caramel? STUPID GOOD! 

Multicam Crunch is a superb twist on the Chow, and hugely recommended at £2.50 for 10ml of concentrate. 

PEEGOREVAPES RATING :  1441822315_2

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

FINAL THOUGHTS

Wow, another three Mom and Pops concentrates done and dusted. Five reviewed overall and not a bad one in them. In fact when you look at it, Butterfly Bait, Calippiter Chow and Multicam Crunch are really very good, and even the OMG and Krunchberry are nice offerings as well. Seems it’s difficult to pick a bad one from Mom and Pops, and quality is a thread seems to be running through their products. Love em!

Oh… RANT TIME!!!! What is it with STUPID long winded florally poncey e-liquid descriptions that tell you NOTHING about what your gonna buying and vaping! It’s the one thing that niggled me about the Mom and Pops website, and as a knock on effect, the Chefs Vapour website’s (lack of) description too. Oh others sites do this as well… they aren’t  the only two offenders!

Fair enough, if you want to play with a bit of artistic license and describe a Strawberry Cream juice as ” Milky white clouds drifting lazily over a rouge tinted sunset ” and crap like that then fine. JUST SAY ITS A STRAWBERRY CREAM LATER ON IN THE DESCRIPTION! Quite how ANYONE would know what Multicam Crunch was before they bought it I do not know. If anything, this lovely liquid may never be purchased from the Mom and Pops website directly if the description of “awesome stuff” is anything to go by. I shouldn’t have to use other websites to see what the vendor is ACTUALLY selling!!!

Give your juices proper descriptions. Stop fanny-arsing about.

Cheers, Peegore

I bought them here – CHEFS VAPOUR

2 Comments

  1. Hi Peegore, at what % do you mix Multicam Crunch and how much time for steeping? I’m mixing at 70vg/30pg. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.