Oneshot Wonder

A new concentrate supplier section appeared on Chefs Vapour not that long ago. Oneshot Wonder.

Im sure these have actually been on Chefs Vapour’s website before, only briefly, then disappeared. And now they have resurfaced again with a selection of seven or so one-shot flavour choices. Each is being sold in 30ml bottles to be used at 16.5 to 20% concentration. And they are £4. Yup, £4 … that’s…. fucking cheap!

Better than this, five of the new introductions to the range are ‘tribute’ blends. Milk & Honey, Doh Nuts, Teleos Crunch, Sugar Bear and Nana Cream.

Now I have to say this from the start; I’m not expecting amazingly identical replicas of the originals. At £4.00 for 30ml I’m not that naive. I know it is most likely I’m buying into a ready blended mix of freely available concentrates that capture the ‘feel’ of the juices they pay homage to.

Basically they are ready mixed clone concentrates of popular e-liquids meaning YOU don’t have to feck about with a recipe calculator and separate ingredients. There I’ve said it.

The only original flavour I have had the pleasure of vaping from the list is Cosmic Fog Milk & Honey. So all I can do is just review them as stand alone flavours and let you know what they taste like. Except Milk and Honey that is… I’ll let you know if it comes close!

Doh Nuts and Milk & Honey have been steeping for over two weeks. Teleos Crunch and Sugar Bear have been mixed for nearly two weeks. All toked with the Sigelei 150W @ 45W on an OBS Crius with dual kanthal coils @ 0.3 ohms

20160121_103639.jpg

Doh Nuts

doh-nuts (1)Mixed at 20%, 80VG, 3mg nic

I like to think I was ahead of the Donut curve. I was vaping “The Donut King” by Chefs Vapour while people were still getting their knickers wet over cereals. Ok, so a bunch of other people probably were too, but recently donut juices have exploded.

D’oh Nuts by Dohnuts E Liquid is seemingly the darling of the vaping world at the moment, and I suppose it’s to be expected this is the one to clone if any. For reference, the original is described as  A delicious sweet Strawberry Frosted Donut with Strawberry Jam filling dipped in an Ice Cold Glass of Milk. 

Oneshot Wonder’s version is quite obviously very ‘strawberry’ when smelling the concentrate and strongly so. After mixing this and a couple of days into the steep, the main smell and taste was of a strong, slightly jammy strawberry. So far so good, although it was lacking any sign of a donut. But steeping can do wonders so lets not judge too early.

Well It’s had a couple of weeks steeping now, and I reckon it’s time to get critical. The jammy strawberry has dropped off a cliff. It’s now quite a soft slightly artificial strawberry. To be fair, probably the sort of flavour you expect the strawberry icing on a donut to taste of, but the sense of a ‘jam filling’ isn’t there any more.

A creaminess has developed; it even had a slightly spicy tingle that I kept getting at the back of my tongue/throat for a while (something I often taste when I use FA Catalan Cream and ‘strangely’ enough… TFA Frosted donut! It’s Cinnamon. ) but this has now all but gone.

As for the Donut flavour, I just didn’t get any until around 9-10 days into the steep. At this point I was aware of a mild breadiness creeping into the mix.

So what is Oneshot Wonder Doh Nuts? Its a slightly sweet mild strawberry cream with an undertone of bakery breadiness.

Thing is I actually don’t mind this. It’s not what I imagined but it’s a very pleasing vape. I just wish, wish, wish it had a little more actual donut flavouring coming through!

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822304_7

CLONE RECIPE I’VE MADE AND LIKED

1% Bavarian Cream (TPA)
3% Cheesecake Graham Crust (TPA)
4% Frosted Donut (TPA)
3.5% Strawberry Ripe (TPA)
3.5% Sweet Strawberry (CAP)
3% Vanilla Swirl (TPA)
2% Vienna Cream (FA)

Courtesy of lediypourlesnuls.com/dohnuts-e-juice-doh-nuts/ attributed to voipninja

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

 

Milk & Honey

milk-honey (1)Mixed at 16.5%, 70VG, 3mg nic

One of my favourite premium liquids to date, Milk & Honey by Cosmic Fog is top of my list of liquids I wish I had a spot-on clone for. I love it.

To me, it’s like a bowl of Golden Grahams cereal in milk with marshmallow chunks sprinkled on top. Most clones I’ve tried just don’t nail the brown sugared honey cereal taste at all. If anything they tend to be closer to Venus by Space Jam which is similar to this but with a strong peanut butter note.

Oneshot Wonder’s attempt at creating a tribute seems to have fallen into the same trap as most other clones. I knew this after popping the lid and sniffing, and when I first mixed this up. TFA Peanut Butter. It’s all I could smell.

So after a good two plus weeks steep it is time to see if this has become all I wish it would be.

The immediate answer is no, it’s not really close enough at all to Cosmic Fog’s Milk & Honey to call it a clone. So what does it taste like? Well Space Jam’s Venus would be a starting point!

The opening flavour is a creamy peanut butter, which is all I get for the first couple of tokes. After that it all seems to fall into place at once. Creamy peanut butter mingles with a marshmallowy mouthfeel and flavour. Backing all of this up is a graham cracker base that works well with the other two flavours.

In with these main notes I get hints of brown sugar at times, but it really is just somewhere in the background.

This is a decent juice all told. Though I have started to tire of Peanut Butter over the last several months, this has just enough balance to keep me coming back for the odd refill every now and then, and I’m sure it’ll prove fairly popular once tried.

 

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822292_1

  bannerfans_15658826 (3)

Teleos Crunch

teleos-crunchMixed at 20%, 70VG, 3mg nic

Another day, another cereal. But these days I don’t eat cereal, I inhale it by the lungful.

Admittedly I’ve never bought a mainsteam out-and-out ‘Premium’ cereal such as Looper or Cereal Killer etc, but have enjoyed Captain Cinnamon by Letsvape 1.2, Milk & Honey by Cosmic Fog,  and plenty of cereal recipes from Reddit subs and E Liquid Recipies.com

There’s something about a milky cereal vape that I find satisfying and lush. That combination, plus something to give it a twist (fruit, cinnamon etc) is a great flavour platform from which I imagine many, many combinations can be created.

I ask myself then; why do so many taste of bran flakes soaked in a vat of lemon juice? Baffling…

Anyway, Teleos Crunch will hopefully bring with it all the milky, cereally goodness I crave! The concentrate when sniffed gave me a strong smell of TFA Berry Crunch. This was fine, as long as it was much more than this!

The flavours I get from Teleos Crunch are red berries, bathed in a creamy milk. The berries come through nicely and the milkiness is smooth. In the background I think I’m getting a very mild wheaty cereal note but it’s not too pronounced.

In fact the more this steeps, I’d say the the wheatiness is sort of tied to the fruit in this. Think red berry flavoured cereal as opposed to actual fresh berries scattered over cereal.

Oneshot’s Teleos Crunch for me falls into the the “Milk at the bottom of a cereal bowl” type vape, and is certainly better than a whole bunch of the clones out there. It’ll do nicely until I get my hands on a little number I’ve had my eye on for a while and finally purchased…. Isle of Custard Cabin Boys Breakfast!

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822304_7

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

Sugar Bear

Cinnamon-Crunch-Cereal_largeMixed at 17%, 70VG, 3mg nic

BLAH! Capella Cinnamon Danish Swirl V2… oh how I loathe thee…

One of the first concentrates I bought when getting into mixing, mainly because I was loving juices such as LetsVape1.2 Danish Swirl, was Capella Cinnamon Danish Swirl, and seemed a cracking purchase. Everyone was using it. It was in all the bestist recipes.

But I bought Capella Cinnamon Danish V2. This didn’t have any of the nasties in at all apparently. It didn’t taste that great either.

So every mix I used this is in just didn’t work for me. And slowly but surely I stopped buying or mixing cinnamon based juices, ones which I loved so much at one point. Flavour association is a bitch.

More recently I took the plunge and bought Flavorah’s Cinnamon Crunch, and my faith in cinnamons was restored. I’ve yet to find a super-duper recipe using this, but even as a stand alone flavour it is very nice indeed.

Now I own Sugar Bear… and shuddered when the aroma of a certain cinnamon by Capella drifted from the bottle to my eagerly flared nostrils.

I might have even gipped into the back of my throat a bit.

A little disheartened, I duly mixed up a 25ml batch and tossed it into the steep draw with no particular optimism or hope.

Would you believe then this is possibly my favourite out of the four? I couldn’t… but it is!

I’m not saying Oneshot Wonder have used CAP CDS, but whatever is in it, it has steeped out fabulously. The cinnamon is soft and tasty, and with this comes a lovely soft cakey/breadiness, one I feel in the mouth as much as taste, much like the effect marshmallow gives. This cakiness goes beyond what I’d tasted in the Capella concentrate.

Oh, and a creaminess. A thick creaminess that plays really well with the main flavour. Lastly, again, I might also be tasting a hint of brown sugar somewhere in there as well.

I’m really enjoying Sugar Bear. Proper, really enjoying it. And it’s been well over half a year since I last said that of a cinnamon vape.

PEEGOREVAPES RATING : 1441822304_7

 

bannerfans_15658826 (3)

 

FINAL THOUGHTS

Oneshot wonder is simply that. Oneshot blended flavours, and it’s a Wonder they sell them at this price!

I mentioned at the beginning I don’t know if three of these come close to the juices they pay homage to, but I do know that they all, in their own right, are decent to very good vapes, and represent excellent value for money.

Juice ‘purists’ will no doubt pass these by and pay their wedge for the premiums, but we, the thrifty, will root-out little gems like these and be satisfied we can vape the shit out of a huge bottle of liquid we payed only £4 for, and can spend the rest of our money on things we need to buy. Well, the things my missus says we need to buy anyway. Like Food. And Electrical-icity. Clothes for our ‘children’. Whatever, we are both happy now.

Cheers, Peegore

I bought them here – Chefs Vapour

3 Comments

  1. Really good reviews PeeGore, as per usual.

    Thanks for the tester of milk and honey you sent me as well.. I only mixed this up weekend just gone (been busy!) and already it tastes quite nice. Must try and keep my hands off it for another couple of weeks.

    Smells really nice though 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.